Origin Green Awards for Sustainable Farming

The Origin Green Sustainable Beef and Dairy Producer Awards recognise the exceptional improvements in sustainability achieved by farmers on the Bord Bia Quality Assurance Scheme. 28 farmers in the beef and dairy sectors have been nominated for the awards, with the winners to be announced at a ceremony on the 21st of October.

Judges from Bord Bia and Teagasc selected the nominees, with improvements in various areas, including animal performance, herd health and fertility, and control on inputs such as feed and fertilizer.

Ireland is the first country in the world to audit and carbon-footprint its farms on a national scale, at a rate of 650 a week as part of a pro-active approach to sustainability.

Bord Bia Chief Executive Aidan Cotter, has said: “It is important for Bord Bia to acknowledge, celebrate and showcase best practice, efficient farmers who continue to lead by example. In what is a difficult year for farm incomes, lowering the farm’s Carbon Footprint through efficiency gains will not only reduce production cost and improve on-farm profitability, but will also enhance returns from the marketplace”.

See the shortlist of farmers who have been nominated below.

aa-4560 kg0187

Beef Finalists

Herd Owner Address
Kathleen  O’Riordan Moneygave East, Enniskeane, Co. Cork
Alfie  Kirwan Hearnabrook, Killimor, Ballinasloe, Co. Galway
Brendan Kirk Woodtown, Castlebellingham, Co. Louth
Kieran  Hallahan Bewley, Cappoquin, Co. Waterford
Neville  Myles Legaltion, Ballyshannon, Co. Donegal
Kenneth  Graham Cappanacleare, Mountrath, Co. Laois
Michael  O’Sullivan Lisballyhea, Charleville, Co. Cork
Shaun Toland Kildrum, Carrigans, Co. Donegal
Kieran  Dooley Leabeg, Tullamore, Co. Offaly
Pat & Tom Redmond Craan, Craanford, Gorey, Co. Wexford
William  Nolan & Louise Hennessy Tiermore, Elphin, Co. Roscommon
Tim  O’Connell New Haggard, Trim, Co. Meath

Dairy Finalists

Herd Owner Address Co-op
Donal O’Connor Reavoler, Drinagh, Dunmanway, Co. Cork. Drinagh
John Joe & Theresa O’Sullivan Gurrane, Rosscarbery, Co. Cork. Lisavaird
Dermot A Walsh Currihy, Lislevane, Bandon, Co. Cork. Barryroe
Brendan Brady Knockmullane, Innishannon, Co. Cork. Bandon
Thomas Buckley Ballinahina, Dublin Pike, Co. Cork. Clóna Dairy
Tim Twomey Glen South, Banteer, Co. Cork. North Cork Co-op
Johnny Lane Dromscarra, Kiskeam, Mallow, Co. Cork. Boherbue Co-op
John Hannigan Sansfields, Dromcollogher, Co.Limerick Kerry Co-op
Thomas Culloty Curravough, Tralee, Co. Kerry. Lee Strand
Michael Power Forkhill Graine, Urlingford, Co. Kilkenny. Glanbia
Tony McCormack Melview, Longford, Co. Longford. Aurivo
Eamonn Gargan Leitrim, Mullagh, Kells, Co. Meath. Lakeland Dairies
Dermot Sherry Drumhillock, Monaghan, Co. Monaghan. LacPatrick
Patrick Brennan Lurganross, Ballingarry, Roscrea, Co. Tipperary Arrabawn
Peter, Sheila & Simon Breen Gorteen, Emly, Co. Tipperary. Tipperary Co-op
Patricia & Patrick Shine Ballylaffin, Ardfinnan, Clonmel, Co. Tipperary. Dairygold


To view website please upgrade your browser to its latest version